Alpina Build pt 2

Didn’t take to long to dismantle her into her basic components. Fortunately the more I dismantled, the happier I became. The majority of the parts were just really dirty and scratched up, but on the whole serviceable and workable.

Alpina Bike Looking A Little Worse For Wear

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With everything spread out before me, I figured I should start with the frame itself. I thought it would be better to start with the frame, clean it, prep and spray it, then as I finished all the other parts I could just add them to the bike as I went along. That way I wouldn’t have a bunch of parts lying around that I could lose. Didn’t work out that way, I grabbed the front brakes first, dismantled them and started sanding away!

Front Brakes Looking Terrible

I’ve had loads of experience with the black art of sanding, having been a cabinetmaker. I grabbed some wet paper (800g) and went to town. Worked my way up to 1500g and finally rubbing compound. I did loose a washer somewhere, but it was at the end of it’s life anyway so not too stressed about that!

 

 

 

Didn’t stop there either. Over the last week I been sanding and polishing away whenever I’ve had a spare moment, but it sure is paying off.

 

 

By the end of this week all the bits and pieces should be polished out enough to be put away gently while I get stuck into the frame.

Leave a comment